top of page
  • Writer's pictureDesiree Aguirre

Like My Ancestors in the Circus



My great-great grandfather was a snake doctor and his ten children were in his traveling circus, the Hamburg Novelty Company, and they traveled, via horses and wagons, from Sacramento to Arizona, Washington, and Oregon. My great grandmother was a comedian as well as a singer and dancer. One of her sisters rode bareback, and another one did gymnastics. Her oldest brother walked the tightrope, and another was a sword swallower. They all could play musical instruments, and they each contributed their unique talents to the traveling show.

I’ve always loved to read, write, and listen to music. It wasn’t until after my son, Nikolas Jesus Aguirre, died in a tragic car accident, that I found the courage to combine my passion for words with my love of music by taking mandolin lessons from Doug Bond. This led to banjo, guitar, and fiddle lessons, and in six short months, I was performing traditional tunes in front of an audience. Since that time, I have added mountain dulcimer, hammer dulcimer and harp to my musical toolbox, and learned the basics of recording my music.

I enjoy learning new songs from my favorite singer/songwriters, and putting my poems to music. Carving words around a tune, or finding the tune to match the words, is a process that centers me and makes me feel whole. Best of all, like my ancestors, I have a passion for performing, for telling stories, and for sharing my experience, my strength, my laughter and my tears with an audience.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Flute Named Mockingjay

My friend Sandra gifted me with a Native American flute. Native American flutes, made out of wood, have an air chamber that acts like a bladder, smoothing out the flow of air into the flue. An externa

bottom of page