top of page
  • Writer's pictureDesiree Aguirre

The Hammer Dulcimer

The hammer dulcimer, invented around 900 AD in the Middle East, carried to Europe by the Moors, was the predecessor to the piano. It came to the states, and was often referred to as the wagon train piano because it was easier to carry across rugged terrain in a wagon than a piano.

The hammer dulcimer is an incredible folk instrument. It is played by hitting the strings with light-weight wooden hammers. It can be used to play the melody of a song, or used as a backup instrument playing chords.

I have learned folk, Irish, Scottish, Americana, Christmas and Renaissance songs on my hammer dulcimer, and now I am learning how to play all the chords. I love learning new ways to play instruments—never a dull moment!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Flute Named Mockingjay

My friend Sandra gifted me with a Native American flute. Native American flutes, made out of wood, have an air chamber that acts like a bladder, smoothing out the flow of air into the flue. An externa

bottom of page